World Refugee Day

Today I experienced surprising kindness in a place I never expected it.

This World Refugee Day morning, my friend David, a refugee from Burma, had his biometrics appointment at USCIS. The appointment was to have fingerprints and photos taken for his green card (legal permanent resident or LPR) application. David’s wife and daughter are already LPRs, and their son is a citizen, having been born in the US. We found the USCIS office in Aurora, and everything went smoothly, contrary to my expectations. I had had visions of rude, surly officers, based on previous experiences with refugee friends at local DMVs.

We finished everything in under 30 minutes! We had some time to fill before the World Refugee Day celebration was to begin at the capitol in Denver, so I asked an employee to recommend a park where we could stop along the way. He recommend City Park for its open space, beautiful statues, and picnic tables. My friends’ 6-year-old daughter boldly asked him if it had a playground, and he said yes. We thanked him for his help and left.

Once outdoors, I started taking photos of the non-descript office space in a strip mall, to document this auspicious event. Then it happened. The same immigration officer we had just been speaking with came outside the door. I was sure he was going to reprimand me for taking photos of the outside of the office. I was wrong.

Instead, this gentleman said to me, “In all my years as an immigration officer, it’s rare for me to see someone like you who gets it. It just warms my heart. Thank you.” I was blown away! I choked up and responded with, “Thank you. You have no idea.” His response: “Yes, as an immigration officer, I do have an idea. Thank you.”

I could end the story right here, but we made a celebration of this day. We headed over to City Park for a picnic, photos with the statues, and fun on the playground.

Next stop, Capitol Hill for the World Refugee Day celebration! We enjoyed African drumming, dancing, speakers, and vendors selling products crafted by refugees.

I could tell my friends weren’t going to last long in the sun holding a 10-month-old baby, so I suggested that we go inside the capitol building for a look around. We wandered around the capitol, entering the Senate and House chambers, and climbing ever higher in the dome. My friends were fascinated by the grandeur and importance of the building, as I explained that this is where the leaders of Colorado make the laws.

I can’t think of a better way to celebrate World Refugee Day than by helping a refugee friend with his LPR process, celebrating with family and fellow refugees, and learning about the political center of their new home in Colorado. But the recognition and gratitude of another person who gets it was the high point of my day.

 

IMG_3200
David outside the USCIS office.
IMG_3206
Happy family at City Park.
IMG_3217
David with MLK Jr.
IMG_3219
Grateful beyond measure that this is only a sculpture in the park, not a real jail.
IMG_3235
Refugee craft booths at the capitol.
IMG_3267
Capitol building, Denver.
IMG_3241
Inside the capitol.
IMG_3248
Colorado House of Representatives.
IMG_3253
Colorado Senate.
IMG_3255
The gold-covered dome.

One thought on “World Refugee Day

  1. What a great day you had! Thanks for sharing.

    Judy Gillispie

    Colorado Springs

    “The wise person makes learning a joy.”

    Proverbs 15:2 NLT

    Like

Leave a comment