Hispanic Heritage Books: Adults

Hispanic Heritage month runs from September 15—October 15 in the U.S. This year I have so many book recommendations that I’ve split them up into three categories: Children’s books, Middle Grade & Young Adult books, and Adult books. Today’s post is the second in a series of three.

While we’re taking about books, I have exciting news: my friend Dora Rodriguez, about whom I’ve written before on this blog, is opening a community library in the small border town of Sásabe, Sonora, Mexico. I’ve been collecting Spanish-language books to donate to the library. In case you want to join me in supporting this important work, I’ve made a wish list of books I don’t yet have. Check it out here: amzn.to/3sYH1Nz. Used books are fine if they’re in very good condition.

Learn more about Dora here: http://bit.ly/3EI5lpl and here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NHTzRi4aSNA.

And now, I give you my adult book recommendations for Hispanic Heritage month. Happy reading!

My Boy Will Die of Sorrow: A Memoir of Immigration from the Front Lines, by Efrén C. Olivares

Caramelo: A Novel, by Sandra Cisneros

Antes de Ser Libres/Before We Were Free, by Julia Alvarez

De Cómo las Muchachas García Perdieron el Acento/How the García Girls Lost their Accents, by Julia Alvarez

El Gusano de Tequila/The Tequila Worm, by Viola Canales

La Fruta del Borrachero: Una Novela/Fruit of the Drunken Tree: A Novel, by Ingrid Rojas Contreras

El Hombre que Movía las Nubes/The Man Who Could Move Clouds: A Memoir, by Ingrid Rojas Contreras

Como Agua para Chocolate: Novela de Entregas Mensuales con Recetas, Amores, y Remedios Caseros/Like Water for Chocolate: A Novel in Monthly Installments with Recipes, Romances, and Home Remedies, by Laura Esquivel

Sabrina and Corina: Stories, by Kali Fajardo-Anstine

The Lacuna: A Novel, by Barbara Kingsolver

The Bean Trees, by Barbara Kingsolver

Leave a comment